Tuesday Toast: J. Warner Wallace on the Importance of Tent-Making Apologists

How do you become a Christian apologist? Go to college, get a Bachelor’s and Master’s, and $150,000 in debt? Or open up a blog and write posts discussing arguments for the tenets of classical Christian doctrine? STR fellow J. Warner Wallace has argued for the latter.

If you are more into podcasts than articles, then here’s his podcast episode on the why and how: Encouragement for “Tent-Making” Christian Case Makers

If you like to read, here’s his recent articles on the issue:

Here’s a snipet:

People often ask me, “How can I make a living as a full-time Christian apologist (aka:Christian Case Maker) like you?” Even though I’m semi-retired from my career as a Cold-Case Detective (I still have one case pending this year), I’ll never be a vocational Christian Case Maker. My income continues to come from my law enforcement employment, and it always will. For many years, I juggled my vocational employment as a detective with my a vocational calling as an apologist. It wasn’t always easy. There were years when I worked full-time, drove 12-15 hours a week, served 25 hours a week (or more) as a volunteer Youth Pastor, and attended seminary while dodging homicide call outs! My wife, Susie, was incredibly patient and supportive.  We eventually church-planted (after I graduated from seminary), and things got even crazier. I bet many of the “One Dollar Apologists” who read this blog have similarly hectic lives.

We are “tent-makers”. Like the Apostle Paul, we draw our income from conventional careers (Paul was described as a tent-maker in Acts 18:1-3), so we can evangelizepreachmake a case or serve as we have been called by God. There may have been times when you wished there was a way to make a living doing what God has called you to do as an apologist, but be careful what you wish for. God has you exactly where He wants you, because tent-makers make great Christian Case Makers:

Leave a Reply

